9:53 pm on 12-28-04
the roommate meeting

previous ~~ next

I went at looked at two apartments today and met one person from the roommate service I signed up for. I like one of the apartments a lot, but it was a little bit more than I wanted to pay. The roommate I met, well, let�s see� He was an extremely nice guy and what not, even paid for my drink, but he had an odor problem. I mean, for all I know, he may have just come from the gym and didn�t take a shower or something�but what if it was a daily smell? It wasn�t overpowering, but things like, �what if we�re hanging out eating dinner or something and he smells? I might not be able to deal with it��stuff like that was running through my head. His place is about 3 miles from where I live now and it�s extremely nice, but I am going to have to think this over. The bedroom is extremely large, enough for a king bed, dresser desk and other stuff. His living area is totally decked out and he even has a red mixmaster (I wondered about this one). He was really open about guests and said he didn�t mind having people over and he said that he was kind of looking for new people to spend time with because all of his friends are married and what not (don�t I know that feeling). He doesn�t have a girlfriend either.

He said I can move in anytime if I wanted to and I told him that I was looking at probably moving in two months, and he said that if I was still interested at that time it was fine because he is renewing his lease at that time too. That was one of the things I was looking at with the roommate service, I want someone who is staying at the place for at least nine months. I don�t want to move in and have someone leaving in two months and then have me strapped for covering the rent. So we�ll see how that goes.

I met today with my boss about the raise I asked for. Totally unexpected too. We worked on revising my job description and while it�s not final, it�s getting close to what I wanted. I think I still need to wait a little bit on approval of the raise, but at least we met and talked about it.

So needless to say, today was a good day. 2005 is the Chinese year of the rooster (which actually doesn�t start until February 8th). My last name resembles the translation of rooster in german. My aunt has vehemently insisted that 2005 will be our year. The way things seem to be going right now, it will be my year.

The ones that know about the j situation have asked me if I have talked to him at all or did I hear from him over the holiday. I told them no, that I have not heard from him. They�ve asked if I am upset about that. Well that�s another story that I�ll save for another day�..