6:11 pm on 11-04-04
Pre Pre Birthday celebration

previous ~~ next

I really cannot believe where the time goes sometimes. It is already Thursday. sigh. I have been swamped this week. And I am sitting at work right now composing this when I really should be writing a report on some nursing status crap�

Am I disappointed at the election? I don�t really know. Sometimes I just go by day to day, and completely forget about who is ruling the country. Am I going to tell you who I voted for? No, it�s none of your business. Did I vote? Of course, I did. And I wrote my name in on the ballot for president. I can just see it now. I would have to have my hair perfectly coifed and whatever else it is that I would have to do to be president. I would not wear a suit though.

While watching the news this morning, the first lady was wearing a pink suit and the vice first lady was wearing a sea foam green suit. How inappropriately disgusting colors to choose. Yea, I think it�s because of those stupid pink suits that taxes in Chicago are now rising to 9% on goods and 10% at restaurants, or at least that�s what they are talking about doing. I might as well just buy my own cows and cook my own food now.

My coworkers decided secretly to celebrate my birthday today. I believe it is because one of them is off tomorrow. So I came into my office today with streamers and balloons all over the place. Normally, I would become giddy with excitement, but all I could think this morning was, �crap, I�m really tired today�. So I had a quiet 2 hours, I filed a bunch of crap, and cleaned out my files. All 84 million drawers worth. Then the food started to arrive. We have an assortment of dips and sweets. I will feel like crap later today. I try and watch what I eat, but I think I need to work out more too. And of course, I didn�t renew my health club membership. I almost miss the 400 pound women in spandex.

I need a personal trainer to get my ass into shape. I�m not stick thin, but I don�t think I�m wobbling all over the place either�.I blame it on society. We blame them for everything else, so I�ll blame them for my weight too.

I received some gifts today too. Some very very very nice jewelry that I have already decided that I will be wearing for our black tie ball in February. I got a gift card to Old Navy, and an I-Pass. I would never even think to give an I-Pass as a gift, but that�s what my boss gave me. She is queen of awesome and practical gifts. I�ve only worked for her just over a year since she started here in July 2003�and last xmas she gave me a $200 gift card for one of the Hilton Hotels downtown. I almost thought it was unethical for me to even accept the gift. But she says it�s because of how much she appreciates me and how well I do my job. Screw that, I want the raise I asked for�and no, I haven�t heard about it yet.

As you can probably tell, I wrote this entry over 6 hours at work. It is very very choppy.

Tonight I plan on perfecting a back up plan website for my class in case the partners do not provide the information they need to. I worked on it last night, and it is relatively plain and simple. I will then plop my ass on the couch for three hours of staring at the tv. The three hours in front of the tv is completely unlike me, but I just feel that I need it today. And I won�t have to use my brain at all.

Tomorrow is the one year anniversary of my brother�s death. It is also my mom�s birthday. She has indicated that she doesn�t want to do anything, but we are all getting together for dinner on Saturday, then I will be proceed to get drunker than ever. Ok, I probably won�t get drunk, but I�ll definitely have a good time.

I have plans in the works to meet a fellow diarylander. I am expecting a good time filled with interesting conversation. You will be sure to be seeing a follow up to the meeting sometime in the near future.