11:47 pm on 07-09-05
Cliff notes for the past couple of weeks...

previous ~~ next

I would have thought that during the summer I would be writing more because I wouldn�t have been so swamped with class and work, but I am writing much less than I thought I would. Plus I hardly turn my laptop on anymore. It�s like I don�t want anything to do with it.

I guess first things first�I broke up with Jim this afternoon. I just knew that it wasn�t going to go anywhere. And I really thought about it in the last couple of days and figured it was the best thing for me to do. I gave him the whole I think we�re better as friends schpeal. The thing I am worried about the most is what is going to happen at work. He was ok about it though today. He was surprised, but understood my reasoning why. I kind of felt bad about it, but now I know it was the right thing. I feel ok. We�ll see what happens on Monday though. I think it�ll be ok. He won�t bad mouth me or anything, so that�s good. Yea. It�ll be ok. I don�t think either of us will try to make the other feel uncomfortable about it, that�s how we are.

I was in Michigan for a couple of days at the summer home. It�s so nice to wake up in the morning and sit up in bed and look out the window and see the lake. It�s so peaceful up there, but I am a city girl and I can only take a couple of days of the calm and mind clearing stuff. One of the neighbors made blueberry pancakes for me on Friday. They were pretty good. I almost killed myself on the seadoo, but that�s a common occurrence. I think I can do these crazy spins on the thing and then I freaking flip over. I am such a dumb ass. I actually had to wait for someone to come and help me flip the seadoo, I couldn�t do it for the life of me. And then it wouldn�t start back up. After a couple of minutes I was good to go. I read two books while I was there too.

My cousin showed up early Thursday morning and when I went down to say hi to him, he was like, �hey, what do you think about London?�. I replied with, �I think it�s cool that they�re hosting the Olympics�. He looked at me weird. Obviously I didn�t know about the bombing. What a bunch of crap. And those Britains, they�re so serious and back to life. I didn�t see any news clips of people crying hysterically or anything like that. Although I did see paramedics performing CPR on a guy that was just laying there burned and with his mouth open. That scene kind if irked me.

I discussed my job searching with my cousin. He first suggested waiting until I finished school, but when I reminded him how close I was to finishing, he told me I should go through a headhunter. I never thought to even do such a thing. He�s going to get me contact info for someone he knows, so that�s a plus.

My youngest sister is doing the �Out of the Darkness� walk next weekend. This walk is to raise money towards the prevention of suicide. She raised about $2000 so that was cool. We�ll be going down to Soldier Field for the opening ceremonies and then that�s it. Supposedly there are only two areas along the walk route as to where people can stand and cheer and you can�t do anything after 11pm. My parents decided that they�ll just go and see her off and the pick her up in the morning. There�s no need to look for parking at Belmont and LSD just to see her walk by.

I didn't get killed or hit by any fireworks this year. Thank goodness for that.

There was someone shooting a gun last week. We think it's someone down at the end of the road. Who knows. Probably a bunch of drunk cops or something.

They found West Nile in a mosquito found in my neighborhood. Yahoo. Better stcok up on the bug spray...as if I didn't get enough skeeto loving in michigan.

That�s about it�until the next time�rock the Kasbah.