8:01 pm on 2004-02-08
some flapjacks, an irish boy, and a ball

previous ~~ next

A lot happened this weekend. I�ve realized I haven�t written since Thursday night, and until this morning, my computer has been off since Thursday night when I went to bed. That is odd for me. Obviously I was swamped this weekend.

Friday night was a girls night out, we had an awesome time. First, S and M came over to drop off the bridesmaid dress and then we headed off to the bar down the road for dinner and drinks. We meet up with 2 other girlfriends. We all looked pretty damn cute that night too, if I might say so myself. So we sat and had some appetizers and downed quite a few drinks. My friends always are amazed at how many people I run into when I am out. At least 6-7 people came up to our table to say hi to me, and everyone was like, how come you always know so many people when we go out. I have no clue, I just know a lot of people in the area. So there was a band there, actually one of my favorites, and they were playing acoustically that night�they were mighty good. So around midnight, when we were all pretty buzzed, we decided we wanted to go somewhere where we could dance and people watch�so off to the divorcee bar that gets a pretty good young crowd after 130am or so. So we get there, pay a stupid cover, and walk right into �night at the Roxbury��hehe. The five of us are sitting at the bar, just amazed at how crazy people can be and how stuck in the 80�s they are�when Mel breaks out a comb and proceeds to rat her hair! Not only that, she busted out the Elaine from Seinfeld dance, and needless to say our drinks were covered for the next two rounds.

The whole time we were sitting at the bar, I noticed this guy who was across the way, obviously there by himself. Every time I would look over, he would be looking at me, and then he would smile. I knew I knew him from somewhere, but couldn�t figure it out.

So after about an hour, the girls and I move to the other side of the bar�and the weirdest guys would come and talk to us. I decided that I was going to leave, so I said my goodbyes and went to walk out. Well, I decided on the way out that I was going to stop and see who this guy was. So he�s still sitting at the bar by himself, and I tap him on the shoulder�he turns around and has this look on his face like he was just waiting for me to come over and he had a smile, and was like hey. So I pull the standard �do I know you from somewhere� like out of my ass�and he tells me that he remembers that I used to watch the kids of the guy he used to work for. Ah ha!! Off the boat from Ireland boy. When he said his name I knew exactly who he was. I haven�t seen him in like 6 years. So were talking and what not, and before I know it, my girlfriends are behind me going �I thought you were leaving� along with their giggling because I was talking to this guy. I said, oh yea I was but I ran into marcus here��so I introduced everyone and then I said that I would see them later.

Now the lights come on signaling time to leave, so we get ready to leave and he walks with me to my car. He cleaned it off for me, such a nice guy. So he then tells me that he has to run to the burrito place so he can call for a cab..turns out his car had gotten plowed and he was waiting for it to get fixed. Nonsense, I say. Hop in and I�ll give you a ride home. So we get to his place and he asks if I wanna come in and hang out. By this time, I am oblivious to his ulterior motives (smacking myself in the head), and I say sure. So we go and we�re hanging out talking and what not, and he slyly made his move on me. Wow. What a great kisser�And of course, all he wanted to do was fuck..Nope sorry none of that for you. Whatever whatever. Now, I was going to ask him for his number, to see if he wanted to hang out again, not even thinking of him as a boyfriend or anything, when he blurts out something like �I�m not gonna ask you for your number because I am not looking for a relationship, and it wouldn�t be fair to you for me to ask you for your number and then never call you.�/�.I kind of looked at him, with probably a look of disgust of how he could be so bold. Who in the first place said I would even consider dating you. He did tell me earlier in the night that about 6 months ago he was 2 weeks from getting married, and they called it off, and I don�t blame him for being that way and not wanting a relationship�but to blurt that out. I think he realized that I was thinking that he was a schmuck because he apologized for catching me off guard. I said that was ok, and then he had the nerve to say that we could always be fuck buddies or something. I said sorry, already have one of those. He chuckled and said lucky guy. I was like whatever dude, I gotta go. At least he walked me to my car. He�s a nice guy and what not, and I really don�t think he intentionally meant any harm by what he said, I think it�s just the way he came out and said it.

Alright so by the time I get home, it�s after 6am. I slept til 1pm or so and had so much to do. I had the ball last night, and I had to get a new bra, needed to get my nails done and all this and I had to leave by 5pm. I left at 515pm, and made it downtown by 540pm. And traffic wasn�t the greatest either. My dress allocated major cleavage last night. And that is not me. I try to veer away from stuff like that. And then my boss made a comment, and she said it looked nice. I don�t know how to take that comment. I ended up bringing a wrap with me because I was feeling a little too exposed, but two martinis later I was fine. It was a good night, and it�s always fun to see the doctors and what not dressed up and all that. I was glad that MK and I had decided not to bring dates with us. If Snide would have gone with me, he would have been on his own for a couple of hours, otherwise he would have been glued to my hip, and I don�t like that. All in all, it was a good time.

Which leads me to today. I have midterms this week, and I am feeling a little overwhelmed. I�ve been up since around 9am studying all day. I think I am about done for now. The one class I am not too worried about, it�s java that�s gonna drive me nuts. After Tuesday night, I�ll be happy when it�s all over, and then I have 4 more weeks to worry about the final.

Yes, I�ve decided that I am taking applications for someone who can keep me in check and let me know when I am get all flipped out and they tell me to relax. I need someone to put me in perspective sometimes, because I know that I get way out there sometimes.

Alright, so this was so long and drawn out, my mom always said I was wordy. : )