10:05 pm on 08-16-04
Such sweet sorrow

previous ~~ next

Oh Monday. What a not so great day. Weekends are always too short. Friday I had a family get together. It was nice. There were a couple of other nights last week where my family had gotten together, but we um neglected to invite my uncle and his daughter and her husband and their kids. Well Friday night before they arrived (they are always the last people to get anywhere), the rules were laid out. No talking about Monday and no talking about bologna night.

Well let�s see, we�re all sitting around eating dinner and we hear UJ and my dad in the other room talking about bologna night! Jesus Christ, the older they get, the less they listen. Then my mom slipped about 3 times when talking about something. If the ones who were not supposed to hear heard, they didn�t let on.

Saturday I bummed around during the day and then went to J�s house. We went for steak at the usual place. I think the last time I had steak was in December. I had some filet and it was pretty damn good. We went back to his place and waited for Red to call and make plans for the evening. J and I drove into the city. It was a fun ride, with me pulling advertisements off of building walls and telling them to J and pulling them off as my own ideas. I did fess up later as to not making them up myself.

We went to the foot bar again. The last time I was at this bar was when my freaking shoe broke when we were walking there. Red�s friend made sure that I was wearing shoes that wouldn�t break. I was prepared this time. It was an uneventful night, J and I got back to his place by 130am. I didn�t even get drunk. The one time I don�t drive into the city from J�s place�.I swear. Red always makes a comment about how he has never seen my wasted. La di da, I can tolerate buddy.

My great aunt and uncle have both been pretty ill lately, even much more so after my brother died. So the last couple of weeks they have both been at home with hospice. Their kids were finally able to have both my aunt and uncle in the same room, in separate beds, but right next to each other with their hands touching. Every time my aunt would stop breathing, my uncle would do the same. My aunt went to heaven on Saturday morning and my uncle made his way there last night. There will be a joint wake and funeral. It is definitely sweet sorrow. What a way to leave the world, with the one you have been married to for over sixty years and had 11 children with.

I often wonder if I will ever love someone as much as they have loved each other. And if I do, would I be able to survive the death of my husband? How heart wretching that is. My favorite aunt and I were talking about this the other night, and she stated that she wants her and her husband to die together, or at least within a short time of each other. And to tell you the truth, I don�t think either one of them could live without the other. How loving and sad.