6:33 pm on 08-11-04
Even if it doesn't go anywhere

previous ~~ next

Last Friday I had a little get together after work with some co workers. One of them is getting married this week in the Cayman Islands..lucky her. So we�re sitting there, having some drinks and appetizers, enjoying the nice weather and conversation and one of the girls comes out with this,

�ok, you guys can kill me or get mad at me for asking this, but I want to kind of know. Notalptrixie, did you ever figure out why your brother killed himself?�.

Whoa..stop. Where the hell did that come from. I think we kind of all just sat there with our mouths open in shock. We weren�t even talking about death, family, or anything like that, so who knows where that came from. So I talked about it for a little bit, but at the same time I kept wondering to myself why is she asking this now, nine months later? Jesus, some people. So I was telling my boss about it on Monday, and she says, �that girl is such a polack�. It made me laugh.

Saturday, I had originally had planned to go and hang out with J downtown in the afternoon. He calls me in the morning and tells me that he doesn�t think that he can walk around downtown. Why not I ask? There is not enough bathrooms he replies. He was having intestine issues that day. So I went up to his place, and we went and saw the new Tom Cruise movie. Oh he is hot. It was ok. We had Boston market for dinner. Which I hate, but I ate turkey anyway and it wasn�t that bad. I guess I don�t hate it that much. We also rented some Japanese suspense movie with English subtitles. It actually wasn�t that bad. Towards the end of the movie, they go back in time to where they focus on this girl who kills herself. She kills herself by hanging and they kept on showing it over and over. You know how movies are. And at first, I was ok, and then J said are you ok with this. I said yea, but it was overkill and I made him skip to the next scene. What a nice friend for asking though. No one else would have even thought of that. (for you new readers, my brother committed suicide by hanging himself � refer to November 2003 entries if you would like to read about it).

And for once, J and I did not fool around. Well just a little in the morning, but that was it. Surprising.

I signed up to a personal website and I had been getting such spastic emails from people. But I did get one that I found relatively interesting, so we emailed each other a couple of times, and after playing phone tag for about a week and a half, we finally spoke Monday night. We talked for a little over an hour. He is quite amusing and seems like he has a lot going for him, except for the fact that he is a Cubs fan, but we�ll let it slide. I had a couple of things going on this week, and he�s out of town until Monday, so we have made tentative plans to get together sometime next week.

I think this is what I need, even if it doesn�t go anywhere.

And now, I think I have the same stomach problems that J had over the weekend. Ugh. I hate when I don't feel good